filling the cup

Open Anahata Intention

” Asana (physical posture) is the container, the cup. Yes, your cup must not leak but what is more important than the beauty of your cup is what you fill it with; Your Intention. Intention determines your practice.” 
– Premananda, Anahata teaching

Open Anahata’s intention is to pass on the foundational practices, philosophy and ethics of the Anahata Yoga Tradition. These practices are simple yet holistic and multidimensional. Like a template, they can provide the base that branches into many other modalities and studies that express our creative gifts and interests.

The Anahata Yoga Tradition includes the Five Element Form purification practice, the Dances of Shiva and Shakti, unique variations of ashtanga, pancha kosha, hatha, tantra and five element philosophies and the self-healing trance meditation practices of yoga nidra and yoga nyasa (the ancient forms of hypnotherapy).

Our aim is to maintain an open, oral tradition connected to nature and the cosmic heart, transmitted through human and lineage connection and to grow trauma-informed methods of practice, self-inquiry and community on the paths of radical self understanding, kundalini rising and collective evolution.

Our branch of Anahata Yoga highlights the inner transformation, inner paradigm shifting and self-healing that is integrated into the practices. We hope to bring more awareness to moving meditations and understanding to the human ability of accessing natural, restorative and healing states of trance and navigating multiple dimensions of consciousness.

Though we embrace contemporary scientific explanations of the ancient practices we do not limit our understanding to them. (ie. Heart coherence, polyvagal theory, fascia, hypnotherapy, neural-plasticity)

Our dream is to help grow the Anahata Tradition and contribute to an organic network of Anahata yogis who weave the ancient templates of practices into their unique individual lives, specialties and locations on our sacred earth. And who in turn weave their own wisdom into the tradition, pass on their knowledge, insights and gifts to those around them and to the future.

We are deeply grateful to all the Anahata yogis who practice alongside us and who have come before us. We honor their support and presence in our practice. ‘Premananda’ Peter Clifford, who spread the tradition to east and west. Swami Shankara, for holding us in his heart as he visioned the future.

We explore mindful, uncensored ways of connecting through digital technology and prefer to share posts via this website, our newsletter and telegram.

This is yoga with no big guru, no grand institution. Just your practice; your diligence, your love, your life and your sacred part in a beautiful tradition on earth.

Hari Om Tat Sat


More Anahata yogis:

I conduct myself in a professional and conscientious manner.
Acknowledge the limitations of my skills and scope of practice and where appropriate, refer students to seek alternative instruction, advice, treatment or direction.
Create and maintain a safe, clean and comfortable environment for the practice of yoga.
Encourage diversity by respecting all students regardless of age, physical limitations, race, creed, gender, ethnicity, religion or sexual orientation.
Respect the rights, dignity and privacy of all students.
Avoid words and actions that constitute sexual harassment.
Adhere to the traditional yoga principles as written in the Yamas and Niyamas.
Follow all local government and national laws that pertain to my yoga teaching and business.

~ Member content

~ Member content

~ Member content

the sky, as it is

2000 years ago the constellations in the sky matched the seasons. The Sun rose in Aries (the first sign of the zodiac) during the first day of spring. But since then, the stars have changed position. Today when you look at the sky, the Sun rises in Pisces, not Aries, on the first day of spring.

Most western astrology uses ‘tropical’ astrology based on the seasons (spring starting with Aries) and NOT what is really happening in the sky (spring starts in Pisces). There is now a growing difference of one to two zodiac signs between tropical western astrology and the visible sky.

Sidereal astrology observes and uses the actual visible sky.  Sidereal means : ‘determined by the stars’ or ‘star time’

~ For a consultation, your birth chart is calculated using the 13 zodiacs (including the Ophiucus star sign), the true variation in sizes of the zodiac constellations (visible sky) and the placidus house system (12 equal houses, representing earth time).

Join our newsletter

No spam. Your privacy is sacred. Read our Privacy Policy.

Select what you want to receive: